Craft Show Insanity.

On Saturday, April 9, 2011, we are holding our semi-annual Underground Artisans Marketplace, this time at Schlow Library in State College, from 1:00 PM-5:00 PM. My boyfriend and I will be selling stuff we made over the past few months, incorporating both design and illustration. Harlan has a series of refrigerator magnets that he drew of various creatures in a bowling theme, for instance. Aren’t they fabulous?

I’ve been making all kinds of jewelry, felt flowers, hair clips, upcycled clothing, stationery and kitchen towels from vintage patterns. It’s starting to get a little insane at my worktable at home,  but I’m pumped to get a lot of different things out there in the community. Having grown up in an area rife with handicrafts, it’s important to me to see how both arts and crafts can evolve together.

Let’s face it…not everyone is into traditional designs, so why not take the elements of the actual craft and evolve it into something new and fun?I spent a lot of time as a child watching the elderly lady down the street make quilts, and my mother knitting. To me, the ultimate combination is useful arts…making the beautiful also practical. I also like really crazy but elegant jewelry. Here’s some of the jewelry I’ll have for sale.

 

And here’s some of the little felt flowers I’m making out of vintage buttons and felt made from recycled soda bottles.

The craft fair benefits Schlow Library, and there are a ton of super talented local artisans in the area. Fifteen of us will be at the craft show, so come and check out our wares! The last craft show was a rousing success and this will only get better.

