End of an Era.

Well, I suppose I might as well put this out there now…after six years of working at Penn State as the Digital Photography supervisor, and in light of recent budget cuts to the University, I’m leaving. It’s sort of a mix of getting cut and wanting to get off the academia hamster wheel anyway. I’m done as soon as my contract expires at the end of next month.

I’ve been incredibly fortunate to have worked with B. Kelly for 12 years as a student and staff member. He got me through college, handed me my diploma, and has been a very supportive and kind boss to me all this time. I adore the man like family and will miss him and his kindred spirit the most.  I am really grateful for the opportunities I’ve been given, and I’ll come away with a very strong portfolio as well as a strong disdain for academia in general. My department was like a small family and we were very close knit. I will miss working with the staff and some of the faculty very much. I have been with INART since 1998, and its demise is very hard on me because it’s been my whole life for over a decade. It’s like going through a divorce from the university. But life’s too short for an underpaying office job at a freakshow. It’s time for new, untested waters, though Baby Bird is ready to fly, it’s hard to get off the ground. I’ll need some time to just breathe for a while before really working hard on my own.

What next? I’m not sure. Not going to lie, I’m scared and the prospect of having to get my own health insurance is daunting, but I need the transition now. Leaving this 9-5 job I’ve had for so long feels strange, but I’m glad. I am tired of being in a windowless, dark office with only fluorescent light. It’s made me gain weight, gain anxiety, and lose my sanity more than once. I need some time to myself to refocus and see where my career goes next. Lousy time to lose a job, but I’m not the only person. Knowing that makes me feel slightly better. And I don’t have student debt, thank god.

Here’s some of my favorite people from the past couple of years. I only have photos of these peeps because I took them recently and lost track of many of the others who have jaunted off, but I will miss them very much.

There are a ton more people who I will miss, but I don’t have pics of them at the moment. I’ll just think about them when I have stress nightmares.

