Olde Lantern

Lately, when I go on my little excursions to flea markets and antique stores, I’ve been taking photographs of the objects and their surroundings. I am particularly fascinated by this one place in Mifflinburg, PA that is an antique store in an old, unrenovated house from the 1830s. The place is rarely open, and the elderly gentleman who owns it simply tells people to come next door and ask him to open the shop for you.

Inside, it’s remarkable. Yes, it’s a shithole. There are stairs missing; the floors creak, there’s a broken window, and wallpaper is peeling everywhere off the walls. But it’s the original wallpaper from the 1890s. The original windows. And the floors are wide planks from long-ago trees.

The contents of the shop itself are pretty cool. My mom and I went on a trip to there and to the Street of Shops in Lewisburg a few weeks ago. I thought I’d take a few pictures of the place.

Can you find the ghost?

