Prepping.

Oy veh, I got pretty busy all of a sudden. Two stores! Etsy giveaways! Etsy sales! Possible pending craft shows!

Trust me, I never, ever thought in a million years that I’d be focusing my life on jewelry design for a living. In high school, I thought I’d be a Spanish teacher. WTF.

I’ve made the executive decision (I can do that! I’m an executive of my made-up job!) to take my friend Shelley’s advice and start selling necklaces rather than pendants. I think she’s right…though I’m fond of pendants alone because I’m forever switching up chains, they do look more attractive and finished when attached to a chain.

First on my M.O.: get chain. So this week I procured some in a pinch because I had a gift card from Christmas, but in the future I’ll be purchasing from fellow Etsy sellers. I’ve made it my prerogative to really support other artists and indie suppliers, which helps boost the economy a little, at least within my circles.

The pain of bulk chain is…you have to assemble it.

Forty chains later, my hands feel slightly crippled.

What do you listen to when you craft? I’ve been rocking out to the Klaus Nomi Pandora station. If you know me, you know I’m a huge bizarre New Wave fan…not the top 40 shit, which is fine in and of itself, but the really out-there stuff. Sparks, Gina X, Klaus, you name it.

I’m glad that all the manic crafting I’ve been doing since May is at least forming a purpose. Last night my friend Anna and I opened up my sewing machine and took a look at it. I’m very excited to learn how to use it, but I need serious practice first. It’s been a while since I’ve sewn on a machine. I picked up some books from another Etsy seller on beginning sewing, and I’ve got a bunch already in storage. So many ideas. Where to take them?

