New Beginnings.

Whoopdeedooo!

I have a recurring freelance job doing photo editing and album designing for Jessica Ames Photography. She’s awesome. Love her. I’m very glad to be working in my own field again, and I’ve already learned a lot.

Secondly, I don’t know what planet I’ve been on where I haven’t worked in Lightroom, but BOOM. I’m there, and it’s 4:30 AM, and I’m going through photos I haven’t looked at in over 5 years. It’s like rediscovering photo editing all over again, with a kind of giddiness I haven’t felt in ages – actually, it feels a lot like the time I made my first print in the darkroom: a kind of exploration and millions of new possibilities for my work. Lightroom is a godsend if you need to do things in large batches. I am swearing off Photoshop, except for specialized edits (like zit removal).

Here are a couple of photos I’ve rediscovered.

Here’s the Bubble Man of Central Park:

 

Here’s a self portrait:

The T in Boston:

And one of the tombstones in Salem Cemetery in Massachusetts:

Needless to say, I’m thrilled and excited to edit even more again. The thing I love most is that I can recreate the look of selenium portraiture (like 1920s style) and everything looks new and wonderful. I’m sure the novelty will wear off, but then again, when I can finally achieve the vintagey, antiquey looks in an instant that once took me hours, who needs film ever again? Seriously. This is mostly the last severance I have with film before I use the rest of my rolls up. I no longer need it. I no longer want it. This is what I’ve been searching for, for over a decade.

I know, Alice, late to the party…again. Whatever.  I love it.

 

