Latest Photography Stuff.

I’ve been playing around with the camera on my phone lately. It’s been pretty fun.

When it comes to photography, I don’t like working with color very much. I find it limiting, in a weird way. Black and white feels more natural to me. But sometimes I’ll goof around with it.

I’ve been playing around with the cigarette smoke idea some more, trying to figure out how to make it look more ethereal and eerie, which is easier to do in black and white. The last couple of days I’ve gotten some interesting things with the Hipstamatic and Pixlromatic apps, something we’ve been kicking around for the online photo class in the future. You can totally make interesting photos with your phone, just like any other camera.

I shot these while smoking an American Spirits cigarette (I bought a pack in April when I started this project). All of the effects were done in-camera and on the phone. I like to see what I can come up with with my little iPhone. It surprises me sometimes. I am continuously surprised by digital photography’s capabilities. I was one of those lucky people who started taking pictures when only film was available and have grown with digital photography from the beginning. I love the things you can do now that film simply couldn’t. It’s so much fun, and freeing, to have infinite routes to discover.

I’ve got this fisheye lens I want to try next, once I find the magnet sticker that goes with it (it got lost in my purse).
What do you like to listen to when you take pictures? I’ve been enjoying  this wonderful playlist on Spotify.  I like to listen to moody stuff when I’m taking pictures like these, it helps me tap into some strange emotions.

