Portrait: Peter Davison as Albert Campion

Sometimes you get stuck on drawing one person’s face. It can’t be helped; there’s something really fun about drawing them.

Right now, for me it’s actor Peter Davison, who is like a chameleon in every role he’s in. I don’t know how he does it, but he looks completely different as every character. I’m rather fascinated by people who can do that.

Still on the Sargent-style kick, I did another portrait in dark coarse pencil, mostly, and played around with light and shadow. I liked how this angle had an interesting challenge: a shadow over the forehead, and glasses reflection on top of that. The photo I worked with didn’t have a whole lot of detail, and I had to rework the left eye, but I’m very pleased with how this came out. Some days you’re just on a roll, and I’m so glad I managed to crank out two really excellent portraits tonight.

Whooo! Anyway, time for a break. Who else would you like to see me draw?

Screen shot 2013-03-15 at 1.11.29 AM

Screen shot 2013-03-15 at 1.03.04 AM

