Frank, Part Deux

Well, Frank’s outlined. I had to wait for the underpainting to dry before I could put down the India ink layer that brings out the contour of the actual skull shape. Did you really think I was going to just leave it like that? Pshaw. I’m not THAT lazy.

Have you ever seen Night Gallery? Don’t bother for most of it, except the paintings. Holy shit. The man who did them is awesome, although he’s moved into art design since. I love his work. I’d love a Night Gallery painting, but cha-chinnnng. Guess I’ll just paint my own.

Anyway, I am one of those weirdos who pays a great deal of attention to details in set design (maybe even more so than the plots of some shows), because I love learning more about characters by the items in their surroundings. I think I missed my calling. (Anyone hiring?) Best shows to pick apart: Mad Men/Sherlock/X-Files. I even started a group on Etsy for set designers and vintage dealers to converge…one of my members is a set designer for Mad Men, and many other members sold to their prop department. Whoo! I hope I managed to help someone. I really love interior and set design. (Confession: I actually sent a fan tweet to Sherlock’s set designer to thank him for inspiring my living room layout.)

So back to Frank. Once the India ink dries, I’m going to hit it with another layer of gesso/ink combo and then layers of diluted gesso to give the illusion of chalky bone. Spooooky!

Anyone interested in Frank? Hit me up. I haven’t figured out pricing yet, but he’ll be affordable so you too can have a gothic touch in your home. x

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 3.44.22 PM

