Portrait: Alan Cumming

I was commissioned by a friend of mine to do a portrait of Alan Cumming in possibly the most normal Alan Cumming outfit he’s ever worn: the Masterpiece Mystery “English teacher” look.

8×10 on paper: charcoal and pencil. This particular photo gave me a lot of trouble because it was deceptively shadowy. It took me a few studies before I was able to nail down the low contrast feel through line hatching…forgive me, I love high contrast stuff.

alancumming

 

 

 

Here I am in the middle of the drawing. I think it was about 3 AM? I’ve been drawing at Harlan’s art desk. I need to refinish mine; too much junk on it, like dried glue and paint dribbles. It really should be sanded down. (Or I need to stop using globby materials.)

 

IMG_8019

 

Here’s the initial layout of the drawing.

IMG_7967

